Schedule of Nominations and Appointments 2016/2017

CABINET (Leader of the Council plus 5 additional members of the controlling group). The formal appointment of the 5 members (other than the Leader) is made by the Leader following his/her appointment by the full Council. Although the Council has previously determined that the size of the Cabinet shall be between 4 and 6 in total it is open to the Leader to recommend the Council to agree a different size. The law requires that the Cabinet shall have at least 3 but not more than 10 members (including the Leader).

1	Leader of the Council: David Tutt Responsibilities aligned with Chief Executive and including the Community Strategy, Local Strategic Partnership, the Corporate Plan and economic development.
2	Deputy Leader: Gill Mattock <i>Financial services including accountancy, audit, purchasing and payments.</i>
3	Alan Shuttleworth: <i>Direct assistance services including</i> <i>revenues and benefits, housing and community development,</i> <i>bereavement services and the Crime Reduction Partnership.</i>
4	Margaret Bannister: Tourism and leisure services.
5	Troy Tester: Core support and strategic services.
6	Steve Wallis: <i>Place services including cleansing and recycling, parks and Downland, engineering, building and development control, planning policy and strategy, environmental health and licensing.</i>

OPPOSITION SHADOW CABINET (Notification for information)

1	Opposition Leader: Tony Freebody (to shadow Chief Executive aligned responsibilities and including strategic partnership, corporate plan and economic development).
2	Deputy Leader: Penny di Cara (to shadow financial services, including accountancy, audit, purchasing and payments).
3	Raymond Blakebrough: (to shadow direct assistance services including revenues and benefits, housing and community development, bereavement services and crime reduction partnership).
4	Colin Murdoch: (to shadow tourism and leisure services).
5	Kathy Smethers: (to shadow core support and strategic services).
6	Gordon Jenkins: (to shadow place services, including cleansing and recycling, parks and Downland, engineering, building and development control, planning policy and strategy, environmental health and licensing).

COMMITTEES

Scrutiny Committee (7 or 8 members, not members of the Cabinet or the Mayor. Chairman to be appointed from the largest opposition group. and Deputy Chairman from the controlling group).

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	D/Ch: Steve Holt	6	Ch: Raymond Blakebrough
2	Md Harun Miah	7	Colin Belsey
3	Jim Murray	8	Robert Smart
4	Pat Rodohan	Substitutes:	
5	Dean Sabri		
Substitutes:		1	Barry Taylor
1	Janet Coles	2	Penny di Cara
2	Margaret Robinson		

Planning Committee (12 trained Councillors - not Cabinet members. 8 as members of the Committee and 4 as substitutes).

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Jim Murray	6	Barry Taylor
2	D/Ch: Dean Sabri	7	Gordon Jenkins
3	Md Harun Miah	8	Colin Murdoch
4	Margaret Robinson	Substitutes:	
5	Sammy Choudhury	1	Penny di Cara
Sub	stitutes:	2	Kathy Smethers
1	Jonathan Dow		
2	Pat Hearn]	

Licensing Act and General Licensing Committees (Between 10 and

15 trained Members (13 proposed for 2016/17) – not Cabinet members).

	Controlling Group		Opposition
1	Ch: Jonathan Dow	10	Colin Belsey
2	D/Ch: Pat Rodohan	11	Tony Freebody
3	Sammy Choudhury	12	Colin Murdoch
4	Janet Coles	13	Robert Smart
5	Steve Holt		
6	Jim Murray		
7	Margaret Robinson		
8	Colin Swansborough		
9	(to be advised)	J	

Sub-Committee Standing Chairmen: (Between 3 and 5 members drawn

from the membership of the Licensing Committees)

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Jonathan Dow	5	Colin Belsey
2	Steve Holt		
3	Pat Rodohan]	
4	(to be advised)]	

<u>Audit and Governance Committee</u> (8 Councillors plus one co-opted member if appointed).

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Colin Swansborough	6	Penny di Cara
2	D/Ch: Dean Sabri	7	Kathy Smethers
3	Sammy Choudhury	8	Barry Taylor
4	Jonathan Dow	Substitutes:	
5	Steve Holt	1	Colin Belsey
Substitutes:		2	Tony Freebody
1	Gill Mattock		
2	Troy Tester		

ADVISORY GROUPS

Conservation Area Advisory Group (4 or 3 members, not Planning Committee members, plus external advisors).

In 2015/16 the Conservation Area Advisory Group had 4 members. Past Council practice has been to allow the opposition an equality of seats.

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Pat Rodohan	3	Colin Belsey
2	D/Ch: Colin Swansborough	4	Robert Smart

Joint Staff Consultative Committee (3 members, 2 from the controlling group and 1 from the largest opposition group, plus staff representatives. Controlling Group's representation to include at least 1 Cabinet member. Chairmanship alternates between Employer's and Staff Sides). *N.B. Staff Side will take the chair in 2016/17.*

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	D/Ch: Troy Tester	3	Gordon Jenkins
2	Margaret Bannister		
Substitutes:		Substitutes:	
1	Gill Mattock	1	Kathy Smethers
2	David Tutt	2	Tony Freebody

TASK GROUPS:

Grants Task Group (3 members)

	Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Alan Shuttleworth	3	Penny di Cara	
2	Margaret Bannister			

Downland Forum (3 members)

	Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Gill Mattock	3	Colin Belsey	
2	Pat Hearn			

Town Team Grants Panel (3 members)

		Controlling Group		Opposition
1	L	David Tutt	3	Tony Freebody
2	2	Gill Mattock		

EBC COMPANY DIRECTORSHIPS:

Eastbourne Homes - Non Executive Directors (currently 4*)

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Jonathan Dow	3	Kathy Smethers
2	Pat Hearn	4	Raymond Blakebrough

Welbeing (formerly Wealden and Eastbourne Lifeline) Board - Non

Executive Directors (Council's Chief Executive and one "independent" external person)

1	Robert Cottrill (0	CE)	2	Independent	person
---	--------------------	-----	---	-------------	--------

CloudConnX Board – Director (Council's Chief Executive)

1 Robert Cottrill (CE)

Eastbourne Housing Investment Company Limited Board

David Tutt (Leader)
Alan Shuttleworth (Lead Cabinet member for Community)
Roger Eastwood (Chair, Eastbourne Homes Ltd)
Ian Fitzpatrick (Senior Head of Community and EHL MD)
Nazeya Hussain (Senior Head of Regeneration, Planning and Assets)

PROJECT BOARDS:

Airbourne Project Board: Cllrs Margaret Bannister, Colin Murdoch and David Tutt

At Home Eastbourne Project Board: Cllr Alan Shuttleworth

Boundary Review Working Group: Cllrs Gordon Jenkins, John Ungar and Troy Tester

Carbon Reduction Board: Cllrs Margaret Bannister, Gill Mattock and Jim Murray

Cultural Development Group: Cllrs Margaret Bannister and Colin Murdoch

Devonshire Park Project Board: Cllrs Margaret Bannister, Gordon Jenkins and David Tutt

Housing and Economic Development Project Board: Cllrs Alan Shuttleworth and David Tutt

Joint Transformation Programme Board: EBC Cllrs Tony Freebody, Gill Mattock and David Tutt. (LDC Cllrs: Elayne Merry, Sarah Osborne and Andy Smith)

Local Plan Steering Group: Cllrs Margaret Bannister, Pat Hearn, Gordon Jenkins, Jim Murray, David Tutt and Steve Wallis

Redoubt Museum Policy Group: Cllrs Steve Holt and Colin Murdoch

Strategic Property Board: Cllrs Gill Mattock, Barry Taylor and Troy Tester

Terminus Road Project Board (joint with ESCC): Cllrs Tony Freebody and David Tutt

Wish Tower Project Board: Cllrs David Tutt, Gordon Jenkins and Margaret Bannister.

OTHER:

Armed Forces Covenant Champion: Cllr Steve Holt

Black and Minority Ethnic (BME) Champion: Cllr Md Harun Miah

Councillors appointed to hold a Youth Brief: Cllrs Tony Freebody, Steve Holt, Dean Sabri and Troy Tester

Disability Champion: Cllr Janet Coles

Faiths Champion: Mrs Carolyn Heaps

Heritage Champion: Mrs Rebecca Madell

Hospitals Champion: Hon. Freeman Mrs Elizabeth Walke